Ayurveda is a comprehensive system of medicine, more than 5,000 years old and based on a holistic approach rooted in Vedic culture. Ayurveda teaches how to stay healthy, radiant and balanced, and unlike many other health systems, looks at roots of the problem and imbalance and concentrates on promoting a long and healthy life.

The knowledge of Ayurveda came from enlightened Rishis (sages) who received this wisdom through deep meditation. For hundred years this knowledge was an oral tradition and was later transcribed into book form: Vedas – sacred texts of India. The three main Ayurvedic texts: Charaka Samhita, Sushruta Samhita and Ashtanga Hridaya Samhita; they are still used today and they contain the original & complete knowledge of this ancient medical system.

Five Elements (Pancha Mahabhutas) and concept of Tri-Doshas

Everything in the universe is made up of a combination of the Five Elements (Pancha Mahabhutas).  These five elements are known as:

Akasha (Space), Vayu (Air), Tejas (Fire), Apa (Water) and Prithvi (Earth)

The Five Elements manifest in the functioning of the five senses of each being; this allows the person to perceive the external environment in which he or she lives and are also related, through the senses, to five actions expressing the functions of the sensory organs:

  • Space – sense of hearing; organ: ear; qualities: light, fine, smooth, soft;
  • Air – sense of touch; organ: skin; qualities: cold, light, dry, rough, fine;
  • Fire – sense of sight; organ: eye; qualities: hot, sharp, clear, fine, light, dry;
  • Water – sense of taste; organ: tongue; qualities: cold, soft, liquid, oily, slimy, heavy;
  • Earth – sense of smell; organ: nose; qualities: heavy, hard, course, rough, solid, compact, slow.

In Ayurvedic philosophy, the Five Elements combine in pairs to form three dynamic forces called Doshas. Dosha means “that which changes.” In Ayurveda, Dosha is also known as the governing principles as every living thing in nature is characterized by the Dosha, all activities of the mind and body are governed by three biological principles.
The three active Doshas are:

  1. Vata  (Space & Air)
  2. Pitta (Fire & Water)
  3. Kapha (Water & Earth)

They create 7 main Body Types (or Constitution) called Prakriti:

  1. Vata
  2. Pitta
  3. Kapha
  4. Vata – Pitta
  5. Pitta – Kapha
  6. Vata – Kapha
  7. Vata – Pitta – Kapha (Tri-doshic)

All three Doshas are present in every living organism but one or more will predominate, giving rise to certain physical and psychological traits and each individual has a unique mind and body type.